Posted on

Lost in Translation (2003)

(R) 104 mins

Synopsis: A movie star with a sense of emptiness, and a neglected newlywed meet up as strangers in Tokyo, Japan and form an unlikely bond.

Director: Sofia Coppola

Writer: Sofia Coppola

Stars: Bill MurrayScarlett Johansson and Giovanni Ribisi

Serious Jest: (Free-View)  Barely got 3 mugs from me, because this film moved very slowly at times.  Do not watch this if you’re tired, unless you want to fall asleep.  However, worth watching to me because it came across so genuine, especially in the acting and scenery.  Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson made me feel like I was a movie star in my twilight years, visiting a big city with bright lights in a very different culture, and being re-invigorated in the company of a young, beautiful woman I met very unexpectedly.  I’ve also never been to Tokyo, but I felt like I somehow experienced it a little.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

Sound off!

