Posted on

Get Him to the Greek (2010)

(R) 109 mins

Plot Summary: A record company intern is hired to accompany out-of-control British rock star Aldous Snow to a concert at L.A.’s Greek Theater.

Director: Nicholas Stoller

Writers: StollerJason Segel (characters)

Stars: Jonah HillRussell Brand and Elisabeth Moss 

Serious Jest:  (Must Own)  I remember watching this in the theater, laughing uncontrollably, and walking out of there so glad that the theater let me spend the money to laugh that hard.   I wonder how much of this movie was scripted, because I kind of feel like it is almost impossible to write so many good lines, scenes, and even special effects with such incredible timing.  After a while, I couldn’t even laugh anymore, and I just sat there with an open-mouthed smile, trying to breathe through my nose.  I was laughing out loud throughout the whole time I watched it again on HBO.  I loved the Snow character in Forgetting Sarah Marshall (Get Him to the Greek is more of a spinoff than a sequel; you don’t need to watch Forgetting Sarah Marshall first, although you really should get around to it, sometime, too), and pairing him opposite Hill was a genius move!  The cast (leads, supporting actors, and even the many cameos by A-list celebs) was solid all throughout, especially Sean ‘P. Diddy’ Combs and Nick Kroll.  I actually like Diddy as an actor; I thought he was great in Made, but he was brilliant in this film; he was really willing to get silly, and I respect that.  Sometimes I laugh before Kroll even says anything.

On a side note, Judd Apatow was a producer on this film.  I will pretty much watch anything that guy is involved with.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

One response to “Get Him to the Greek (2010)

  1. Pingback: Arthur (2011) « Live from the ManCave!!!

Sound off!

