Posted on

Happy Gilmore (1996)

(PG-13) 91 mins

Synopsis: A rejected hockey player puts his skills to the golf course to save his grandmother’s house.

Director: Dennis Dugan

Writers: Tim Herlihy, Adam Sandler

Stars: Adam Sandler, Christopher McDonald and Julie Bowen

Serious Jest: (Theater) I still remember the first time I saw this film. My line brother and I were hanging out with these girls in college, and while we were waiting for them to get ready so we could go out to a party, this movie began playing on cable. At first, we were intrigued, smiling in amusement. Quickly, we got hooked, and by the time these chicks got ready, sometime around Bob Barker‘s cameo, we refused to leave until it was over. Over 10 years later, I still laugh out loud every time I see this movie. Sandler’s berserker rages are especially hilarious, and this movie is elevated to the next level of funny by great supporting actors and cameo appearances, including Carl Weathers, Ben Stiller, and Frances Bay.

CraigMakk: (Theater) Any time Jest and I agree on a review, I tend to assume I’m reviewing the wrong movie. But in this case,I couldn’t agree more. Happy Gilmore represents the high point in Sandler’s career, before he started trying to be something he wasn’t (i.e. a good actor). I have probably seen this movie 50 times, and it makes me laugh every single time. My own daughter could tell me the cutest and funniest joke she is physically and mentally capable of coming up with, and I guarantee I wouldn’t be laughing after the tenth time, tops. Which is to say that this movie is a classic. If you haven’t seen it, you either are just emerging from a fifteen year coma (and you should be reacquainting yourself with friends and loved ones followed by making plans to see this movie) or you are somehow related to Adolf Hitler and are genetically required to hate things that are funny. In which case, please stop listening to our podcast and/or reading our site. We don’t need the bad publicity, you Hitler-spawned bastard. Did I mention I love this movie?

Sound off!

