Posted on

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010)

(PG-13) 120 mins

Plot Summary: Scott Pilgrim must defeat his new girlfriend’s seven evil exes in order to win her heart.

Director: Edgar Wright

Writers: Michael Bacall (screenplay), Edgar Wright(screenplay), and Bryan Lee O’Malley (Oni Press graphic novels)

Stars: Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Kieran Culkin

Serious Jest: (Must See) I would describe this film as Japanese-anime-meets-hipster-underground-rock-meets-video-games. I had a smile or smirk on my face for most of the movie, but was not ROTFLMAO at any point. The film’s value comes from its novelty, good actors (I’m a Cera fan, and Ellen Wong‘s was my favorite supporting performance), and pure “amusingness” (damn you, spell check, I know it’s not a real word!). It’s worth watching on a Friday night, even worth paying to watch, but I won’t be adding it to my personal collection.

CraigMakk: (Must Own) Let me first preface this review by saying that I love comic books, video games, comedies, absurd parodies, and have not yet grown tired of Michael Cera. With that all said, I absolutely love this movie. It touches on all of the above in a way that has never been done successfully before, well….ever. Any video game/comic book fan (Editor’s Note: you mean celibate geek?) knows that these two topics are typically the kiss of death with regards to movies (Editor’s Note: and regards to a man’s chances for ever having sex with a woman! You’re making this too easy!). The mere fact that this movie was able to not suck is pretty incredible. The notion that it is enjoyable and well-done is goddamn proof that God himself may very well exist and is most likely a Michael Cera fanboy. I highly recommend this movie mostly due to the incredible amount of fan service and inside jokes that are liberally spread throughout the story of one boy’s quest to bang a sexually-questionable goth chick. If that doesn’t make you want to buy this movie immediately, you probably have no soul and are well on your way to Satan’s bosom as you read this. Man, I think I’m going to rewatch it as soon as I click the ‘Update’ button.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

Sound off!

