Posted on

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2010)

(R) 153 mins

Synopsis: A journalist is aided in his search for a woman who has been missing — or dead — for forty years by a young female hacker.

Starring: Michael NyqvistNoomi Rapace

Supporting actors: Lena EndrePeter HaberSven-Bertil TaubePeter AnderssonIngvar HirdwallMarika LagercrantzBjörn GranathEwa FrölingMichalis KoutsogiannakisAnnika HallinSofia LedarpTomas KöhlerDavid DencikStefan SaukGösta BredefeldtFredrik OhlssonJacob ErickssonGunnel LindblomBarbro EnbergReuben Sallmander

Directed by: Niels Arden Oplev

Studio: Music Box Films

Serious Jest:  (Must See)  I had the benefit of watching this film without knowing what it was about, so I won’t tip you off beyond the synopsis above…but I will strongly recommend that you see this movie at some point.  Some parts of the film are just pretty good and interesting…the rest of the film is downright awesome.  Beware, it doesn’t pull many punches, and can be pretty brutal; but you will probably be on the edge of your seat throughout, in a good way.  Rapace very competently portrayed the weird, strong anti-heroine, which was key because so much of this film relies on what’s going on behind her steely, expressionless gaze…her performance lives in the eyes…she really should’ve shaved those pits, though…seeing her hairy underarms was one of the most disturbing parts of the movie for me.  Still, this is one of the best girl-power films I’ve ever watched.  I’m putting on my Susan B. Anthony button as I type this.  I’m going to have to set some time aside in the future and watch the American version so I can see what it did differently…but I’m going to need a while to recover from the little bits of innocence that died inside me during this film.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

Sound off!

