Posted on

A Walk to Remember (2002)

(PG) 103 mins

Plot Summary: Love brings together what peer pressure and lifestyles seek to keep apart in this coming-of-age story based on the bestselling book.

Starring: Shane WestMandy Moore

Supporting actors: Peter CoyoteDaryl Hannah

Directed by: Adam Shankman

Studio: Warner Bros.

Serious Jest:  (Don’t Bother)  I know, I know, this movie doesn’t even belong anywhere near the ManCave page…but I have OCD, and it forced me to watch it…you don’t even want to know the insane details.  Anyway, the film was just as corny as I thought it would be, but I was expecting it, so I wasn’t too horrified.  Luckily, I watched it on my laptop while Jeremy Lin was dropping 38 on the Lakers on the big-screen TV.

Actually, the plot and story were pretty good…but they were ruined by cheesy dialogue, over-acting, and a few musical numbers that only a teenage girl could love.  While I didn’t enjoy the songs, I have to admit that Moore is very talented.  If anything, this movie served to showcase how good of an actress she is, as she managed to deliver weakly-written lines with a natural, confident demeanor that captured my attention and made me forget a few times that this movie sucked…but then one of the other cast members would ham it up and I’d remember again very quickly.  Coyote also did a decent job with the lines he was given.  Hannah’s part was bland, and she didn’t stand out much at all.  And, oh yeah, I guess they were still doing the token Black guy thing in 2002–Al Thompson had on his best tap shoes.

One more thing: I forgot how ridiculous portable cd players looked, until I saw West’s character wearing one around his shoulder like a purse.  Thank God for the digital audio player.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

Sound off!

