Posted on

Battle Royale (2000)

(NR) 114 mins

Plot Summary: In the future, the Japanese government captures a class of ninth-grade students and forces them to kill each other under the revolutionary “Battle Royale” act.

Director: Kinji Fukasaku

Writers: Koushun Takami (novel), Kenta Fukasaku (screenplay)

Stars: Tatsuya FujiwaraAki Maeda and Tarô Yamamoto

Serious Jest:  (Don’t Bother)  Even if I hadn’t seen The Hunger Games first, I would probably still have thought to myself that this movie had some potential, but did little more than hold my attention.  In the end, watching ninth graders slaughter each other in various ways without a better reason for the legislation that forced them to do so is not an activity on which I prefer to spend my time…although it could work for a video game.  Also, the strange infusion of various school crushes and flirting was awkwardly scattered throughout the film.  Knowing that The Hunger Games is out there, and that William Golding‘s book Lord of the Flies has been sitting  around for decades prior, this movie just seems like a weird exploitation of fetishes…or one that I may have enjoyed much more in high school.  It will hold your attention, however, as the action is pretty consistent.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

One response to “Battle Royale (2000)

  1. OscarMike ⋅

    Although I agree with your rating I wouldn’t give it such a positive endorsement like you did. It was way too weird for me, I found myself laughing at the movie, not with the movie.

Sound off!

