Posted on

Girls (2012-Present)

(TV-MA)

Plot Summary: A comedy about the experiences of a group of girls in their early 20’s.

Creator: Lena Dunham

Stars: Lena DunhamAllison Williams and Adam Driver

Serious Jest:  (Casual Watch)  There is no way I would ever have watched this show without the strong endorsement of someone whose opinion I respect; but after my friend Jon from I Need Another Drink put it in the “Always Worth Watching” tier of his Television Power Rankings, I decided to give it a chance.  I’m sure he originally agreed to watch this show as part of some type of compromise with his wife…I hope it gained him permission to start watching The Walking Dead.  My excuse is that I had already watched every other show in my HBO On-Demand queue.

At first, I thought that I would never hang out with any of these chicks (except Williams’s character, who can also be annoying sometimes).  However, the show is undeniably raw, interesting, and hilarious.  In particular, Driver and Alex Karpovsky keep me cracking up.  While I don’t relate to most of the characters on the show, they are seriously entertaining.  Now I’ll just have to find a lady to “force” me to watch Season 2 with her.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

One response to “Girls (2012-Present)

  1. Jon

    Solid show, right? I completely agree that it’s the type of thing a lady should be making you watch. You can’t just do a solo “Girls” marathon.

Sound off!

