Posted on

Hotel Rwanda (2004)

(PG-13) 122 mins

Plot Summary: The true-life story of Paul Rusesabagina, a hotel manager who housed over a thousand Tutsi refugees during their struggle against the Hutu militia in Rwanda.

Director: Terry George

Writers: Keir PearsonTerry George

Stars: Don CheadleSophie Okonedo and Joaquin Phoenix

Serious Jest:  (Must See)  I put off seeing this film for the longest time because I knew it would strike a chord…make me angry…kick me right in the heart.  And it delivered.

As a Marine who served in Iraq, I’d have no problem being deployed to stop atrocities like this, even if there’s “nothing in it” for the U.S., in terms of  financial gain or resources.  I’d like to think many Americans would feel the same way, as long as these policies were applied consistently.

It makes me angry that these events happened.  It saddens me that the West didn’t do more earlier.  Nick Nolte really nailed his monologue about how the West views Africans.

I’m also impressed with Rusesabagina (as portrayed in this film, anyway…I haven’t researched how much of the story is true).  I’d like to think that I could react with the courage and strategic intelligence that he displayed in such a crisis.

Finally, no better actor could have been cast for this role than Cheadle.  He brings such a fire to every one of his performances.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

Sound off!

