Posted on

World War Z (2013)

(PG-13) 116 mins

(PG-13) 116 mins

Plot Summary: United Nations employee Gerry Lane traverses the world in a race against time to stop the Zombie pandemic that is toppling armies and governments, and threatening to destroy humanity itself.

Director: Marc Forster

Writers: Matthew Michael Carnahan (screenplay & screen story), Drew Goddard (screenplay), Damon Lindelof (screenplay), J. Michael Straczynski (screen story), Max Brooks (based on the novel by)

Stars: Brad Pitt, Mireille Enos, Daniella Kertesz

Serious Jest: animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd) (Worth Watching)  Anybody that knows me knows that I love zombie movies…and my favorite type of zombie is the fast zombie. I also have a great deal of respect for Pitt as an actor.  So this movie was all set up to be a big winner in my book.  It wasn’t bad…but it was a bit underwhelming.  Like I said, I like fast, adrenaline-charged zombies, as in 28 Days Later…. But these zombies were too fast.  They looked more like locusts.  Also, this story is really about humanity’s fight against the Zombie pandemic, rather than about one family’s struggle to survive it, so I didn’t feel very invested in the protagonist’s survival.  Don’t get me wrong, the movie was good, but I just feel that I would enjoy the book more (although I haven’t read it), because the story is more of a cerebral chess match or puzzle than the action blockbuster that the film’s producers tried to create.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

One response to “World War Z (2013)

  1. Pingback: Contagion (2011) | Live from the ManCave!!!

Sound off!

