Posted on

Lone Survivor (2013)

(R) 121 mins

(R) 121 mins

Plot Summary: Based on the failed June 28, 2005, mission “Operation Red Wings.”  Four members of SEAL Team 10 were tasked with the mission to capture or kill notorious Taliban leader Ahmad Shahd.

Director: Peter Berg

Writers: Peter Berg, Marcus Luttrell (book), Patrick Robinson (book)

Stars: Mark Wahlberg, Taylor Kitsch, Emile Hirsch

Serious Jest: animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd) (Must Own)  When I was still on active duty in the Marine Corps, a situation involving a recon team, an isolated mountaintop, a targeted Afghani warlord, and a couple of innocent goatherders was posed to us as the perfect ethical dilemma.  A room full of officers wrestled with the theoretical frying pan and fire…self-preservation (or, more importantly, the safety of their Marines) vs. morality.  I knew then that I had to read Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10.  I was not disappointed.  I couldn’t put that book down, and I recommended it to anyone who would listen.

I’ve said this before many times, and I’ll say it again: I love sports and movies, but my heroes aren’t athletes or actors.  I was fortunate enough to serve this great Country alongside my heroes.  When I heard that this movie was being made, I couldn’t wait to see what a team of talented filmmakers dedicated to bringing proper glory to the brave men of Operation Red Wings could do with this amazing story.

Again, I was not disappointed.  As a pure action flick, this film is top-notch.  But it’s more than that.  It’s a glimpse at what some patriotic, determined men and women do for other Americans (and, more importantly, for each other), in far off lands, under uncomfortable conditions, for a mediocre paycheck and little recognition.

It took some effort for me not to get choked up during this film.  Afterwards, my girlfriend marveled, “It’s amazing how much the human body can take.”  I agreed, and added, “Even moreso, the human mind.”  Make this the next film you watch, especially if you need to get motivated to do anything remotely tough.

What would you do in the situation involving the goat herders?  I always say that if the first time you consider an ethical scenario is the moment that you’re facing it, you’re much more likely to compromise your moral code.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

3 responses to “Lone Survivor (2013)

  1. OscarMike ⋅

    Great review brother, I willk be checking it out this week.

  2. Pingback: 3:10 to Yuma | Live from the ManCave!!!

Sound off!

