Posted on

Kill List (2012)

(NR) 96 mins

(NR) 96 mins

Plot Summary: When a scarred ex-soldier turned contract killer is pressured into taking a new job, his world begins to unravel until fear and paranoia sending him reeling towards a horrifying point of no return.

Starring: Neil Maskell, MyAnna Buring

Serious Jest: animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd)animated beer mug 25% (transparent bkgrd) (Worth Watching)  This movie is suspenseful, well-acted, and interesting in a wide range of ways, including an insightful look at the aftermath of the sacrifices that soldiers make in war.  It has a realistic feel, even with the injection of the occult.  I thoroughly enjoyed this flick…until the end.

The ending may leave you needing more of an explanation…in my case, it did.  I had a better understanding after reading the explanation on Holy Moly, and additional reflection yielded my own interpretation.  Still, I felt that the jump to the final “twist” needed much more development to get there.  Ironically, so many of the characters and relationships in this film were extremely well developed, but this ending left me with theatrical blueballs.

After further reflection, however, I drew my own conclusions as to the meaning of the movie, based on my military background.  Maybe a deeper understanding of the occult and its symbolism would have allowed me to better catch the intended meaning of the film, but, all in all, this film was worth watching for me because it inspired deeper thought hours after watching it.  I’d be glad to discuss any reader’s take on the meaning in the comments, but please remember to adequately mark SPOILERS.

About Serious Jest

Film & TV Reviewer by Choice, Attorney at Law, Marine to the Corps (excuse the pun), Nupe Under Pressure, and MC by Nature

Sound off!

